I decided to write on this topic after a “close friend” told me about a church in the city kind of pressures people to “tithe” 10%. I told him that I used to be part of this “cultish” like church group that forced their attendees to tithe 10% also. I didn’t stay long enough for me to do it, but I heard that they would collect your bank account information and would have you automatically transfer that 10% automatically to their “church” denomination. I was still young in my Christian faith and it just didn’t “sound right” based on what I’ve read so far in the Bible. I ended up leaving this particular group even though I enjoyed the Bible study portion of their get-togethers/fellowship as I was “hungry” (seeking the faith).

What I can personally testify from my experiences of tithing is that I do this as an act of “obedience” of my faith based on what I’ve been taught and read via Scriptures. I’ve seen results of tithing 10% of my income every Sunday as I’ve been blessed (e.g. financially). Plus, I do it “cheerfully” knowing it’s going to be used for building God’s Kingdom (e.g. faith that what I’m giving is helping my local church’s mission of “reaching out to the lost” and “making disciples of all nations”). If you are uncertain on whether you should give to your local church. I suggest exploring the mission of your local church and if you believe in it-is it Biblical?

I’m no expert in this topic, so I decided to share some resources that I found credible to help answer some question “we” all may have on this topic:

Teachings

Lesson 4: Why You Should NOT Tithe (Selected Scriptures), bible.org
“…The Bible teaches that God, who richly has supplied us with all good things, wants us “to be generous and ready to share” (1 Tim. 6:18). But what does generosity mean? Isn’t giving 10 percent of my income to the Lord’s work being generous? If not 10 percent, how much should I give?..”

Before I critique this view, let me point out that there are some commendable points regarding tithing: (1) Those who tithe are often acting in obedience to what they believe God has commanded. (2) Tithing gets some to increase what they give. (3) Tithing helps consistency and discipline in giving. But consider these seven reasons why tithing is not God’s standard for Christians:

A. Tithing was a part of the law of Moses; believers are not under the law…

What does the Bible say about Christian tithing? Should a Christian tithe? gotquestions.org
“… Answer: Many Christians struggle with the issue of tithing. In some churches giving is over-emphasized. At the same time, many Christians refuse to submit to the biblical exhortations about making offerings to the Lord. Tithing/giving is intended to be a joy and a blessing. Sadly, that is sometimes not the case in the church today…”
Tithing – You Do Not Need To Give 10% To The Church!


“TO LEARN HOW TO BE SAVED click on “Show more” below.
Please visit: http://graceimpact.org/

Original Message Title: “The Wrong Time To Tithe”
Order # 1156″

Comments:

“…I have seen a change in my life while I have been contributing tithes……God don’t owe me anything for doing that. I wanna continue being obedient to the lord to express my love. If giving money is my toughest sacrifice then god is worthy because Christ sacrifice his life for me...”

The Legalism Lie of Tithing, or the lack of faith of those who demand it.



“Has a pastor or some other church leader ever told you that you must tithe because that is what the Bible says you should give? Have you been told that “you’re not giving generously to God” or that “you’re robbing God” (Mal. 3:8-9) because you’re not giving at least 10% of your gross income to your local church? Have you been instructed that “giving 10% is a good starting point” for your giving, meaning that you should give at least 10%? Have you been told that “you should at least tithe because you can’t out-give God”? ..”

Comments:

” Tiny Teardrops 1 year ago
I am a firm believer in helping others, and giving to a worthy cause. I try to donate & help anywhere I can, when I can. I have always enjoyed helping people, especially children & even animals.
· 1..”

Above are just “some” of many websites/videos I found on this topic. Feel free to search for more, but key thing is “seeking” our Heavenly Father about it. Feel free to share any suggestions, comments, stories, etc…

Good News Ministry
https://www.facebook.com/groups/313230752154108/

Leave a Reply

