I just chatted with a “friend” about how it was tough living in an abusive home as a child. She said it was good to talk about it with someone as it was difficult to talk to anyone growing-up. We shared about how it was tough to talk about anything to our high school counselor.

How about you? Have you had any similar experiences? How do you deal with it?

Stories from Adults Looking Back on Abuse burstingthebubble.com
“…As a young child, as soon as my dad started yelling when he was drunk, I was locked in my bedroom in the dark, crying while my dad belted my mum. I could hear everything – the yelling, the crying. As I got older I would get my little brother and sister, hide them in my room, then run out of my room to help my mum. Sometimes I would get hit trying to protect her.

I hated going to school – I couldn’t concentrate. Who could be bothered with it – everyone sitting up nicely doing their work and me pretending I wasn’t worried about going home to protect my mum and siblings again. …

I’m now 25 years old and I am working in a women’s refuge for domestic violence. I work with the children who come in to the refuge. It’s a rewarding job, being able to assist the children in living with and leaving domestic violence. I love life – I have a gorgeous husband and son with another baby on the way.

I believe if I can come from the lowest place possible to achieving my goals and believing life really is a good thing, then it is possible for other young people too. Seek help from someone you trust or a professional. There are people out there who care even if it doesn’t feel like it right now. It’s okay to feel the way you feel because of the situation you are in.

BBC Dont Hit My Mum ¦ 480p [1/4]


“Alesha Dixon explores the trauma and fall-out from domestic violence, from a child’s perspective. Alesha highlights the neglect of children at the centre of domestic violence and how, left unheard, those children can be emotionally scarred for life.

Alesha witnessed her mum Beverley being beaten by her live-in boyfriend when she was very young. In this film, she meets girls and boys who have witnessed domestic violence and discovers how it affected their lives.

This is a journey for Alesha as she, in parallel with her own experiences, examines what happens when relationships break down — between parents, between local authorities and between parent and child. And she looks ahead to see how those broken bonds can be healed.”

Children: The silent victims of domestic violence
By Kelly Wallace, CNN Updated 10:10 AM ET, Wed September 10, 2014 cnn.com
“When a case of domestic violence captures the national headlines like the story of fallen NFL star Ray Rice and his wife, Janay, there’s a laser focus on the abuser and the victim.

But what about the children?

Ray and Janay Rice have a 2-year-old daughter.

We don’t know if she has ever witnessed domestic violence in her household or ever will. What we do know is more than 3 million children have witnessed it in their homes every year, according to estimates. What those children see and hear can have a profound impact on their lives, experts around the country who deal with domestic violence tell CNN….

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Can you relate? Feel free to share your own experiences/stories? Opening up is part of the healing process. Remember, you “are not alone”! Let’s all help one another through our past pain and move forward together to prevent further abuse for future generations!

ACTION: Do you struggle with “anger”?

But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, 23 gentleness, self-control; against such things there is no law.-Galatians 5http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Galatians%205&version=ESVmore...http://life.goodnewseverybody.com*original...http://salphotobiz.smugmug.com/Flowers/Como-Park-Conservatory/18064289_F9FCM9#!i=2646262413&k=XL9v9Mw

Sal: I would pray/meditate on the verse(s) above daily while going to work..

Good News Abused
https://www.facebook.com/groups/380276108747293/

Leave a Reply

