I’ve been practicing the last month or so the lines of Jafar from “Aladdin” (theatrical play performance), which our performance (see “My first theatrical experience (Aladdin the Musical at the Park)”) will be this coming weekend (Friday & Saturday evenings) at a local park. It’s been a challenging character as I’ve had to act “selfishly”, which is something I’ve been trying to do the “opposite” since I became a Christian in my early college years. However, it’s been a fun role as I can relate to this character in various ways when I was younger.

We all can relate somehow to Jafar. Here is some lines that I thought of myself during my “junior high/middle school” years..

“…I was unappreciated by my peers. As their slings and arrows flew. I would ponder. Why me? Why Me?…broadwayjr.com

“Why Me?” Cut Song from Aladdin

Instead of “slings and arrows”, they were “spitballs and spit (a.k.a. “gleaking”) from my peers/bullies. Anyone ever been bullied?

Another song I made relating to this theme…

“It’s About Me” (Parody to “It’s All About You”) by Jafar


(see Music: Parody-“Creepy Old Cave” (originally from “I Can Show You the World” from Aladdin) by Jafar)

Instead of “pondering/dwelling” on how bad you might’ve got it growing up in your “earlier” years. I encourage you to think about others that might’ve got it “worse/more challenging”. This has helped me overcome my frustration of my “past”, which I feel has been a “cake walk” when I compare it with others that have had more difficulties…

Nick Vujicic on how life without limbs is no obstacle – Songs of Praise – BBC One

music-karaoke-its-about-you

I currently work with physically-mentally challenged adults and have been since I graduated from college. This job experience has really changed me to be a “better” person and it has taught me to take my eyes off of “myself” (e.g. own problems). Before I go to bed, I write down a list of “needs” I’ve read/watch/heard as a prayer request and then I jot down a list of what “I’m thankful” for. This nightly routine has also helped me to take my eyes of myself/me too!

What are your needs? Can I pray for you? What are you thankful for? Feel free to share down below to encourage others..

Good News Physical-Mental Challenges
https://www.facebook.com/groups/133973023445443/

JOY comes by putting Jesus first, Others second, and Yourself last.https://bbgministry.wordpress.com/2011/05/21/joy-comes-by-putting-jesus-first-others-second-and-yourself-last/http://ministry-to-children.com/putting-others-before-ourselves/https://www.pinterest.com/jfenderson/joy-jesus-others-yourself/http://gewatkins.net/jesus-others-yourself/
*I would like to thank J.A. (see her Choose Joy blog) for inspiring me to finish this blog with this theme!

“He will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did not do for one of the least of these, you did not do for me.’”Matthew 25

Can you identify yourself with Jafar or any other Aladdin characters? What about any others from different theatrical performances?

Good News Theatre
https://www.facebook.com/groups/676072462404186/

 

2 thoughts on “Disney Character: Jafar-“Why M-E?”

Leave a Reply

