How to deal with temptation?

May 2, 2015 at 2:26 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’m not an expert on this topic, but just wanted to share my on-going “every day” battle with this to the world as we are all not immune to this.  First, what is temptation?

temptation“: a strong urge or desire to have or do something

: something that causes a strong urge or desire to have or do something and especially something that is bad, wrong, or unwise”

We all have a desire for “something”, just what is it for? Is it for selfish reasons? What causes us to have those particular “desires”? Do we ever think of the consequences of these “selfish-desires”? I went to a conference that challenged me to write this. The message (see Ephesians 4 on “generations”) was about what “we” do now will affect the future generations. This really spoke to me because sometimes we don’t consider the affects of our “selfish choices” . This message inspired me because I struggled with my “selfish desires” (temptations) and needed a “good kick in the butt” to think about the consequences of my “selfish actions” (not just in my lifetime, but by future lineage or younger generations overall).

This reminds me of this song…

Good News Sin
https://www.facebook.com/groups/189301851255458/

If you start getting tempted, “STOP” the temptation right now before it gets bigger as the song says..”slow fade”! I know, it’s not that easy, right? Of course it isn’t, which is why we need help. Who and where we get that help from?…

Jesus…”savior”!



I just chatted with a “friend” dealing with “heavy” sin (e.g. sexual immorality). She feels God doesn’t love her because of her lifestyle. I just told her to ask Him for forgiveness and that God does love her (John 3)”

9 After this manner therefore pray ye: Our Father which art in heaven, Hallowed be thy name.10 Thy kingdom come, Thy will be done in earth, as it is in heaven.11 Give us this day our daily bread.12 And forgive us our debts, as we forgive our debtors.13 And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil: For thine is the kingdom, and the power, and the glory, for ever. Amen.http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Matthew+6%3A9-13&version=KJVTeachings http://smu.gs/1O6DZuZThe Gospel of Matthew - [4/26] http://youtu.be/RWOpPj9gr_w?t=6m27smore..http://prayer.goodnewseverybody.comPrayer grouphttps://www.facebook.com/groups/609542502392314/

Lord’s Prayer

I “try” to remember to “sing”/pray this daily each morning-along with meditating (repeating) on “putting the Armor of God” (Ephesians 6)…

http://prayer.goodnewseverybody.com/intercessory.htmlThe Armor of Godhttp://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=ephesians%206&version=NIV

Another tip that has helped me is “fasting” 3 meals a week, which is a faith booster. What other ways do you deal with temptation to help readers and me to “fight this battle” with God’s help?

When you sin, just ask God for forgiveness and ask His help to “sin” no more. Also, I encourage you to ask a brother or sister in Christ (after being connected to a local church family) to help you keep accountable. We can’t do this on our own. We need each other. I “try” to meet with friends/brothers in Christ in a regular (weekly/monthly/etc..) basis on this as we share our struggles and pray for one another.

Before going to bed, I “try” to ask God to show me my sins I need to ask for forgiveness-just like taking a physical shower because we all get dirty in this “dark” increasing world. I’ve been in to health lately and one of the things they recommend is “daily/weekly/monthly detoxification“. This means, we need to cleanse (e.g. colon, pineal gland-mind, etc..) ourselves regularly because of the daily chemicals/pollutants we sometimes “ignorantly” consume in a regular basis. This is the same with sin, we need to ask our Heavenly Father to cleanse us regularly.

I read a health article about we don’t have to colon cleanse as much if we “stop” eating “unhealthy foods”. The less you eat “junk food”, the “less” you have to keep detoxifying our own bodies. As I mentioned earlier in this blog, think about the future and younger generations in everything we do!

Please share any suggestions, comments, feedback, etc.. on anything related to what’s written above. Remember, I’m no expert, just sharing my own personal tips on this “global epidemic”. We all need each other and God’s help!…your not alone, so let’s share each other’s struggles and tips to help each other out! 🙂

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Entries and comments feeds.

