Folks with Signs Along the Highway Exit Ramps Part 2

February 27, 2015 at 12:07 am | Posted in beggars, poverty, signs, Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I met a guy (Saturday, February 21st 2015) name Robert Sherman (name uncertain), who was holding up a sign asking for donations along the popular I-94 exit ramp on Ruth Street (St. Paul). I was walking to Firestone to see if my car (air intake valve loose) was fixed. I hesitated at first on passing by him, but I remembered a share from a friend (Bobby) from church on sharing the “Good News”. I prayed and walked across the street to hear his story. He told me that he’s been on disability. Was incarcerated and been struggling to get a job. He repeatedly shared how it’s hard to not have people label you due to your “past mistakes”. He then told me is a Christian. I tried to encourage him, that God will provide. I asked him what he was “begging” money for and he shared, he needed some money to buy a t-shirt from Family Dollar Store and sugar to make Kool-Aid for his kids. I then “preached” about the health “negative” effects of that drink. He then told me, ” I can’t do anything about it if my kids want it” (he clarified that his kids were in their 20’s..lol! I then decided to go to Aldi’s next door and buy some “healthy foods’ (bag of apples, some granola bars, and a dark chocolate bar as a dessert ‘)….

IMG_1722

He thanked me and I asked if I could do a short prayer for him, which he was willing to receive it after I gave him this stuff (earlier he asked for $1). He told me he took the city bus from E. 3rd St. just to get here and hopes to “make enough” $$ then he plans to go home. This happened on a Saturday morning around late teens to early 20’s (Farenheit), with sunny weather. ..

IMG_1723

Other Stories:

Man shames panhandlers who refused his job offer USA Today Network Jessica Durando, USA TODAY Network 8:45 a.m. EST December 16, 2015 kare11.com
“…Standing next to two panhandlers in Iowa, one man held a sign that read, “Don’t give money.”

He had apparently offered them a job at his business and they refused.
..”

What would you if you were in my situation ?

Good News Sociology
https://www.facebook.com/groups/139706352858524/

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Entries and comments feeds.

