I’ve driven by “homeless” folks many times over the countless years around the Twin Cities and debating how God can use me to “reach out” to them….

The Sheep and the Goats (Matthew 25 )https://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Matthew%2025&version=NIV41 “Then he will say to those on his left, ‘Depart from me, you who are cursed, into the eternal fire prepared for the devil and his angels. 42 For I was hungry and you gave me nothing to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me nothing to drink, 43 I was a stranger and you did not invite me in, I needed clothes and you did not clothe me, I was sick and in prison and you did not look after me.’44 “They also will answer, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry or thirsty or a stranger or needing clothes or sick or in prison, and did not help you?’45 “He will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did not do for one of the least of these, you did not do for me.’46 “Then they will go away to eternal punishment, but the righteous to eternal life.”*see http://smu.gs/1yENQyBMoviesThe Fourth Wise Man http://youtu.be/Jg8Gho7hsz4Good News Sociologyhttps://www.facebook.com/groups/139706352858524/

I can’t say this was the voice of God, but this was spoken to my heart through an idea through a conversation with a friend. During Halloween, I like to give out “healthy juice” drinks (w/various Bible verses) instead of candy, which I bought a whole bunch several months ago. I was debating in my spirit my involvement with this “pagan day” this year, which I decided to not turn the lights on, but have my juices ready in case someone comes over. Well, no one came at all this year, so I have all these juices left over. I was telling my friend this and the idea of giving it to these “folks with signs along the highway exit ramps” would be a blessing.

Well, the holidays visiting family was going to be a great time do it. When I arrived in the cities yesterday (CHRISTmas Day) morning, I had my juices ready (along with food). I forgot I had them in my back of my car until I saw this guy with a sign along the highway exit by my parent’s home in St. Paul. It would have to be a quick and give as there were going to be cars coming behind me coming off the highway (eastbound on I-94). I grab one of the juice bottles (w/Bible verse) and a carton of some bakery goods. I ran over to the corner with my car running and quickly gave these items to this guy. I asked what his name was, he replied “Ben…thank you!”. I ran to my car and said “God bless you” and got to my car in time before the car came behind me coming off the highway. I did a quick prayer for Ben and went “home” to visit family for the holidays.

Today (26th of December 2014), I had another opportunity on that same corner, but it was a different guy with a sign along the highway exit ramp (Ruth & I-94). I noticed this guy as I was heading across the highway bridge to drop my car off to get an oil change at Firestone. When I dropped my car off early this morning (8:30ish), I got a bag of one juice bottle w/Bible verse and my last carton of bakery goods. I took it with me as I walked back home to wait to get my oil change done. This time, I had the time to chat with this guy, so I walked across the street and gave these items (prayed for preparation earlier) to him. He was grateful as he said thank you as he put the bag down by some of his stuff as he continued to hold his sign. Being that curious talkative guy, I asked his name and he replied “Tom” . I then asked about why he is here, he replied-“I got laid off my job several months ago and sleeping over at a friend’s house nearby’ (paraphrase as I can’t remember exactly what he told me word for word). He then shared, he’ll be getting his Social Security benefits soon. I would later share about what brought me to town (visiting family for the holidays). Prior to our talk, the Bible verse on “Silver or Gold I don’t have, but I have Jesus”-Acts) came to me, so I decided to tell Tom about Him. He then repeatedly told me he is Christian. I then asked him if I can pray with him for God’s provision. He then replied, “I don’t feel like getting prayer right now….I’m not feeling well as I caught the flu”. In my mind, I had a feeling this guy had some “hurt” in the past and didn’t want anything to do with God. I then replied, “..well that’s the best time to get prayer because your sick?” as I smiled. He then repeated again he was a “Christian” already, so I decided to move on and didn’t want this guy to “blow-up”. As I walked away to go back “home”, he would repeat and shout again “I’m a Christian already” as I quietly prayed in my Spirit for him. If you are reading this, please pray for Tom and Ben too…thanks!

IMG_0929

One thought on “Folks with Signs Along the Highway Exit Ramps Part 1

Leave a Reply

