Do you ever encounter “homeless” people begging you for money whenever you walk the streets of a city or even driving around a neighborhood? What do you do? Do we walk pass them to ignore them? What would Jesus do?

I admit, I have many times ignored these individuals because I was in a hurry or just had bad “judgment” on them. Well, last weekend I decided to “do something” . I was walking from

Target Field Hosts All-Star Game 2014http://salphotobiz.smugmug.com/Sports/baseball/MLB-Fan-Fest-2014

…to the Minneapolis Convention Center on a Sunday morning (July 13th 2014). I was there for the All-Star festivities (e.g. Fan Fest). As I was walking towards Nicollet Avenue, a guy came by walking besides me asking for money. I then told him I rather not give him money, but instead of food. He declined and asked for money to buy some food instead. Well, he was very persistent, which I kept being persistent. I then “tried” to quote a Bible verse “Silver or gold I don’t have, but I have Jesus” (paraphrased this because I forgot the exact order..lol).

Nicollet Avenue decorated with the All-Star Game theme for week of festivities.http://www.virtualtourist.com/travel/North_America/United_States_of_America/Minnesota/Minneapolis-813712/Things_To_Do-Minneapolis-Nicollet_Mall-BR-1.htmlhttp://www.downtownmpls.com/page/show/227787-shopjavascript:%20void(0);

Anyways, he just continued to walk with me to Nicollet Avenue as he shared his name (Isaac). I then smiled and replied, “that’s a name in the Bible”. He then said, “I know, I’m already born-again and saved” (I questioned myself in thought, “what is he doing here then?”). Anyways, I know we all go through some “wildernesses”, so I wanted to help this guy out to build his faith too. I asked him about his background, which he told me he already has a job. However, it’s only with a temp agency. I’ve had jobs with temp agencies before, so I somewhat can relate. I asked him what he’s good at , but he was persistent about the money thing again. Along the walk, I noticed a street preacher (lady) reading Bible verses, which is the same corner where I’ve seen others before. I thought to my self that this is so ironic! I then told him to come to Morris where there are many jobs available. He said, he might do this in the future. I then asked about his family, which he told me he has siblings in Indiana. I asked what made him move here from there. He replied, the “jobs opportunities”.

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

We then sat down in a bench where there were other “homeless” people around the area getting ready for the “big day” to beg for money. I told him I would love to pray for him about his current circumstances, which he obliged. I was chatting too much as I was holding his hand about to pray that he told me, “I thought we were going to pray together”. I stopped talking and started praying for him with a smile. He then persistently ask for money again, so I told him “no” and took him to the Walgreens around the corner. I told him he can get whatever he “needs”, so he shopped around and picked a deli sandwich and a snack (?). I even told him to get a drink as it’s supposed to get warm later on. He picked a drink and kindly double checked if he can get one. We then went to the counter and I bought his items As we left the store, I gave him more encouraging words (forgot what I said) as he joined his peers by the bench we were sitting before to pray.

I then continued my way to the Minneapolis Convention Center for Fan Fest 2014!

T-Mobile All-Star FanFesthttp://mlb.mlb.com/mlb/events/all_star/y2014/index.jsp?content=asg_fanfestJoin MLB at 2014 T-Mobile All-Star FanFest http://youtu.be/YOcGbH5ktFo

What do you think? Did I do the “right” thing? Is this what Jesus would’ve done? Did I share God’s love? What could’ve I done better?

Good News Sociology
https://www.facebook.com/groups/139706352858524/

Leave a Reply

