For the 4th year in a row, I put Bible verses in the the treats I handed out during Halloween this year. I started doing this after giving some thought and prayer about what I can do to be a “light” during this uneventful day as a Christian. I grew-up “ignorantly” knowing the truth behind this “pagan day” until I found the Truth. I didn’t want to just stay in my house with the lights off until all the trick or treaters finished going house to house. I found this idea via online when I was “searching” online what Christians can do during this time of the year.

First I started with candy 4 years ago (would invite friends over for a movie, food, and fellowship or get-together), but switched to juice bottles the last two years (Last year, a friend from another country loved handing out these juice bottles to the visitors at the door. It was a first time experience doing an activity like this as he never did this back at home.). As a “victim” (cavaties that led to high dental bills) of sweets growing-up, I wanted to make sure the kids-youth that came to my door won’t go through the same challenges I did. I don’t want to be responsible in contributing to their health problems (e.g. diabetes, obesity, or any future addictions), like I almost similarly faced when I got older.

This year was probably the biggest number of visitors at my door as I had a record number of 22! The weather wasn’t as warm as last year, but it was probably warmer than it has been for this past week/season. I had a lot of positive feedback of the juice bottles I gave since it was different from the popular sweet candies.

Most of the kids-teens that came by were people I knew from community relationships (e.g. church, work, etc…). The parents would comment later that their kid(s) appreciated the alternative juice treats instead of candy as I explained to them my reason for an alternative health choice.

One group (teenagers) that I won’t forget from this memorable year was when one of them asked me if I was religious after he read the Bible verse taped in the juice bottle I handed to him. I was first intrigued that he recognized it as a Bible verse and then I told him that “religious” is not my definition. Instead I told him it was more that it’s a personal relationship with Jesus. His friend that was close by then boldly stated, “I’m that too”! I smiled and then saw a parent with a kid behind them, which I then replied “awesome” (slowly grew quieter and held back from “preaching”..lol).

Other notes about this year’s event was a “friend” from another local church remembered me giving these Bible verse treats the past two years. She asked if I can print these for her as she wanted to do something similar this year. I have yet to ask her how it went, but I will try to update this when I do talk to her. Also, in our community (Morris, Minnesota), the local schools (college and high school) did a community fundraiser this same evening. The college (as has in the past) collected cans for the local food shelf, which I did my part in donating when a college student came over.

UMM students to Trick or Can for food shelf
By UMM News Service on Oct 23, 2013 at 2:44pm morrissuntribune.com
“MORRIS — Students from the University of Minnesota, Morris will be going door-to-door in the Morris community collecting donations for the Stevens County Food Shelf on Thursday, Oct. 31, from 7 to 8:30 p.m. Donations can also be left outside if they are clearly marked for Trick or Can.

While the Stevens County Food Shelf is requesting donations of money or personal hygiene products (soap, shampoo, conditioner, deodorant), nonperishable food items are also welcome. These include canned goods as well as jello/pudding mixes, crackers, popcorn, coffee, and cocoa. Please make checks payable to Stevens County Food Shelf.

Since 1991, the Stevens County Food Shelf has been a reliable source of help to the Morris community, providing hygiene products and nonperishable food items to low-income households in the area. The Food Shelf serves an average of 100 households, or 300 individuals, each month.

For more information, contact the University of Minnesota, Morris Office of Community Engagement at 320-589-6276.

Unfortunately, no high school student came over, which they were asking for donations to a UNICEF program.

Please keep the kidsyouth in your thoughts and prayers (e.g. Lord’s protection from daily temptations, dangers-bullying, etc..) throughout the rest of the school season.

I would love to hear any feedback on what do you think about this as I’m looking forward to what I can do “better” next year. Till then, may you keep seeking Him throughout the season(s).

Leave a Reply

