Is it really the “Most Wonderful Time Of The Year “?

December 26, 2011 at 5:10 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

It’s The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year
http://www.youtube-nocookie.com/v/gFtb3EtjEic?version=3&hl=en_US&rel=0

Is it really the “Most Wonderful Time Of The Year”? I recently “really” doubted this earlier this month while volunteering to do a shift with a couple of my co-workers for the Salvation Army at a local (Morris, Minnesota) store. I grew up passing those bell ringers all the time before my family went shopping each holiday season. I finally volunteered doing this for the first time last year at a local grocery store. My co-worker and I enjoyed it so much that we decided to do it again this holiday (2011) season. It’s an interesting perspective when ringing the bell watching (staying “still” during the “busy” holiday season is a lot different than “participating” in going with the “busy” and “hustle” of the crowds of people in this increasingly “commercialized” holiday!) shoppers pass by. This year my co-worker and I noticed how “sad” people were this year compared to last year. Is it because of the so-called “tougher” economic times (despite better reports this year than last year when it came to shopping??)? Is it because certain individuals going through some personal challenges (e.g. financial challenges, flood victims in the Philippines, those without love ones due to health, past away, or unfortunate circumstances, etc..)?…

George Bailey’s prayer
http://www.youtube-nocookie.com/v/vRn26I2Bzd8?version=3&hl=en_US

Is it because of the “pagan” origins of Christmas (as we are uncertain the date of Jesus’ actually day of birth, but that doesn’t matter)?…

When my parents immigrated here to the US in the early 70’s, we didn’t have much. We had a small two bedroom apartment in Oakdale, Minnesota. We had one bed that most of us slept together while my younger brother slept in a crib in the other bedroom. As we got older, we got “better” financially and moved to a townhouse in St. Paul. We couldn’t afford a Christmas tree, so I remember finding a big branch of a tree and we took it home to make a “makeshift” (we stuck it in a bucket of toys to stand it easier) Christmas tree. Then as we got older as kids my parents were able to afford to buy “better” gifts. I would look forward to opening Christmas gifts, but would then go “downhill” if I didn’t get the presents “I wanted” (see selfish). Is it because?…

Making Room for the Unexpected – Inspirational Videos
http://media.salemwebnetwork.com/godtube/resource/mediaplayer/5.6/player.swf

Have we lost focus of the “true” meaning of CHRISTmas?…

The Christmas Story – as told by the cutest kids! – Cute Video
http://media.salemwebnetwork.com/godtube/resource/mediaplayer/5.6/player.swf

Jesus, “He’s” the “real” reason for the season. Find out how He is and this will help all of us find that joy (e.g. “count your blessings” -not just Thanksgiving!-before you go to bed, which I do during my nightly time of meditation) throughout “every” season!

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hi there to all, it’s in fact a good for me to visit this web page, it includes useful Information.

  2. Hello, i think that i saw you visited my weblog
    so i came to “return the favor”.I’m trying to find things to enhance my site!I suppose its ok to use a few of your ideas!!

    • Thanks for taking the time to reply to this blog. Sorry for late reply. I’m deeply sorry for the lost, my thoughts and prayers for the whole family. God bless and may 2013 be full of blessings for you and the family!


Leave a Reply

Entries and comments feeds.

