Happy Mother’s Day-everyday! What are you appreciative most about your mom?

May 11, 2009 at 4:46 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

GoodnewsEverybody.com L.A. Women, Ladies, Mom, Mother,  etc..

This morning (Sunday, May 10th of 2009) at church, I was inspired to add more to this after a great-time of worship. The worship leader (Johanna N.) shared about the “Shepherd” (Jesus) going after that 1 leaving the 99 sheeps.
*see GoodnewsEverybody.com Life: Backslidden-Parable of the Lost Son

I just felt the “nudge” to emphasize this great Biblical story using my own life experience. I shared about a time back in Junior High School when I got in trouble-serious enough to be sent to the Principal’s office and was sent home after being suspended from school for the rest of the day. I actually came home worried about what my parents was going to do. I came home “crying” to my mom and was greeted with an “unexpected” hug. I was actually expecting to get scolded. I look back at this and just thankful to my mom for her grace, which I see “God’s love” through this-similar to the Parable of the Lost Son/Sheep. I was trying to encourage the folks at church present that we all make mistakes and what we do (aftermath) is what really matters. When my Principal suspended me from school, I could’ve went somewhere (e.g. hide in some nearby “hangout” that many of my peers went- to smoke, do drugs, etc…) besides “home”-gotten myself more in trouble! This is what our Heavenly Father wants us to do-come with a repentent heart towards Him or “back in His arms again“! What I didn’t share is that I haven’t done this more than I should. I’ve made many mistakes and didn’t go back to His arms and dug a deeper pit or hole. PLEASE DON’T DO what I did and “run” to GOD! My Heavenly Father loves you more than what you think.

Also during my share, I talked about how we all need to be thankful to our “moms”. During “Sunday School”, I asked the kids what are they most thankful to their mom (a little different from the similar activity 2 years ago-see above). Some shared about their mom’s “great” cooking (I love my Mom’s Filipino food, which I appreciated more when I left home for college). With graduations coming-up, many graduates will be thanking their mom, which we need to do more than just once a year-everyday! I appreciate what my mom has done for me as I get older as I realize more what moms do (e.g. take care of children, house work, etc…) through babysitting or observing other moms. Also, meeting other people and realize how blessed I am. I shared in front of the congregation that I became more grateful after having friends, who would share about their stories of being adopted. I might not have the “perfect” family, but I’m thankful and love them!

more…
http://women.goodnewseverybody.com

Q: What are you appreciative (e.g. cooking-favorite dish, activity, characteristic, etc…)  most about your mom or someone who has been a “mom” to you in your life?

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Entries and comments feeds.

